Wednesday, August 22, 2007

institutionalize me now....

this hasn't been a good week for me so far.

i can't remember the last time i was this far down in the dumps. i can't sleep well. i'm not even hungry. i actually remember at least part of a dream that i had last night. this almost never happens to me. i am the type of girl that immediately forgets her dreams. since this is an anonymous blog and i can say whatever i want, i was rudely awakened out of a very nice Fred dream i was having. nothing explicit, just relaxing and nice. i am disturbed to report that i am dreaming of Fred. i am more disturbed by the fact that tears are brimming in my eyes right now.

am i em
otionally immature? am i depressed? i think its a little of both. and i'm gonna go ahead and throw pms in there too, but if someone else were to accuse me of the same i'd deny it ten ways to sunday. i'm not in a good place.

emotional immaturity. i'm just talking out my ass here, but i don't think i've had enough relationships to know how to handle the opposite sex. i think i am either not there at all or completely overbearing. i think i get wrapped up in things way to easily and that i let people take advantage of my low self-esteem when it comes to attraction.

ug, i'm so annoyed with myself. nothing is cut and dried. there are no clear answers. i can't even categorize myself properly. i think i do have self esteem problems--even though i often think i'm good looking. maybe just not good eno
ugh looking for LA? maybe just too fat for LA? or just too fat?? narcissistic and low self esteem co-existing? doesn't seem possible, but maybe it works in this totally screwed up head of mine.

back to the immaturity. we've reviewed my two, count them, two previous relationships. one was a total fraud. it still breaks my heart to say that, but it's true. so i guess what i'm saying is, that even though i'm almost 30, a 20 year old who's gone through ten girlfriends may be better equipped to mess with my head than i am to mess with his. that's it in a nutshell. i should be in control of the situation but i'm not. this is my fault, but my brain can't get my heart to fall in line with the troops.

i never really considered this "lack of experience" a detriment until speaking with a co-worker who was absolutely shocked that i straight up did not date in college. there was no one to date, and no one wanted to date me anyway. did i miss out on too much? i already knew that i missed out on alot by attending the school that i did, i mean, i had the complete and total opposite of most people's college experience (minus the rebellion) but on this particular front it may have really hurt me. am i just obsessing?

it's been a hard time in my life, for no actual, physical reason. i feel alone and unfulfilled. on the outside everything's fine. on the inside, utter turmoil.

Monday, August 20, 2007

i just want to kill myself this morning

This post is a straight-up bitch fest, be warned.

soooooooo I couldn't find a replacement fish. It's not a goldfish, I figured that much out. I don't know what kind of fish it is and I couldn't find it at the many many petstores I visited yesterday. So I've gotta tell her that the fish is dead. That's number one.

I've been sleeping downstairs since I have a cough. I don't want to keep Wash up all night as I hack every time I wake up. Instead, I was up half the night staring at the ceiling in the living room and wondering why in the hell I was awake. I still don't know, I was very tired when I went to bed. I just didn't sleep.

So with that in mind, when I took the dog out and he was a total bastard I kinda lost it. He didn't poop, which means that he may do so in the house during the day. Great. And then he wouldn't come back into the house. He likes to play this game where you have to convince him to come down the walkway and into the house. Well, homie wasn't playin' that this morning so I just left him there. When he didn't come in on his own I got madder. Needless to say, I wasted literally half of my morning on the goddamn dog. And I was unnecessarily mean to him. So that's something to be proud of.

And to top it off Wash has been the biggest bitch ever lately. Poor thing is sick and therefore whines and complains about everything. I want him to sit down and take it easy. For the first time ever, he wants to do everything around the house. Clearly, the way it works with him is if I ask for something, he wants to do the opposite. Normally, it's impossible to get him off his ass to help me. Fucking bastard.

I am in a very very bad mood this Monday morning.

Oh, and in a Fred update, he emailed me back last week (short email) and I responded (yes it was kinda flirty). He hasn't responded to me yet and I think that's adding to the bad mood as well. I don't take kindly to waiting. I need to get over this and on with my life. I'm pathetic.

I'm very unhappy. Overall. Is this the way life is going to be? Fuck, I hate Mondays.

Thursday, August 16, 2007

I'm a bad person


So I killed by boyfriend's sister's fish yesterday. The first thing that I feel bad about is never being able to remember the poor, dead fish's name. I always called him "fishy."

I was supposed to feed him twice a day and forgot yesterday morning. My excuse is that I've been going to work an hour early and I was a little hazy and running on auto-pilot. I told my boyfriend when he got home to feed the fish.

Well apparently he decided "the water was murky" so he would change it out, again. He just changed it about three days prior. By the time I got home fishy was floating listlessly in the middle of the tank. Within the hour, he was at the bottom.

I thought it would float on the top of the tank. like "they" say. Not so much, this goldfish. He must have been dense.

So we took pictures of the carcass before flushing it. We have to find a replacement fish or she will FLIP the FUCK OUT when she comes home from vacation. I sure hope we can find the same fish. I feel terrible.

I know I know, goldfish die. But did it have to die AT MY HOUSE? ON MY WATCH? Goddamn it. Fish suck. Except to eat.

Wednesday, August 15, 2007

Confusion


In times of need, I always turn to this damn blog. I guess I should be thankful that I don't post too often. I worry that I should have people that I can confide this type of stuff in, but I don't. The older I get I feel like my friends are slipping away and that I'm becoming very very much alone. I have to interact with people, so many people too many people, but not in a meaningful way. Alot of the time I have no one to talk to.

It's very lonely. I try to blame it on the big city and on my job and on the fact that my partner is anti-social, but in reality it's my own fault. I don't know exactly when it happened. I don't know exactly how it happened.

That's not actually true. I think I know how I screwed myself up so royally. You see, for a long time in my life I was not particularly attractive, overweight, and kinda dowdy. I had alot of friends and was outgoing. I was talkative. I was a smartass. I was, surprisingly, more confident than I am now.

I changed my appearance and got myself (physically) together. I thought this would make me feel better, and maybe it did, to an extent. But then I met a man. He told me everything I wanted to hear. flattered me in the right ways, courted me, coveted me. At the same time he kept me at arm's length, which at the time was scary but exciting too. He was older, there was a sense of mystery. A sense of fantasy too. I allowed myself to be led around by the nose by this man for well over a year. At the same time I was wasting away physically and emotionally. He was 100% totally in control of the relationship. He made the rules.

Everyone around me saw that the situation was terrible. My parents in particular tried to talk some sense into me. But I didn't listen. Instead I changed all of my plans, left my career dreams in the dust, and went to law school because he told me to. I moved across the country because he told me to. After all this, after years, after changing my life, I found out all that he had told me was a lie. He was not who I thought he was--in so many ways. A wife. Kids. A different name. In retrospect, I am ashamed of myself for being so gullible, for being so stupid and vacuous and irresponsible as to allow someone else to change around my life. I can think of no reason why he did this other than just to fuck with me. Just screwing with another person because you can. Because you have the power. And it's all my fault, because who gave him the power but me?

I've been out of that relationship for six years. I never closed it properly. I just walked away. I never confronted him with the information that I learned. I never told him how much pain he caused me. I have tried to move on.

I moved on by going directly into another relationship with "Washington," which I'm still in. He's not a terrible person or a liar. He's a control freak, he's selfish, and he's crazy, but I think I can deal with that. I love him, most of the time. I definitely don't hate him or would even compare him to asshole number 1, discussed above.

But every once in a while, every once in a long while I meet someone that makes me question all of this on a very basic level. Recently I met someone, years my junior, who affected me in a very primal and emotional way. I find that I can't deal with the emotions that come with this desire. I want him. Badly. It's so odd, because for quite a while after meeting "Fred" I absolutely hated him. He had a smart mouth, an annoying swagger, and an unearned air of importance. As his superior, which I was, I basically did not treat him well. He stayed away from me. We didn't get along.

Then one day my mind totally changed. All I really needed to do was spend a little time with him. All of the sudden, Fred was cute. Really cute. And smart. And interesting. And interested in the same things I'm interested in, which I can't say for Wash. Plus, he can drive a stick pretty well. He's been on my mind for weeks. We were working together until last week, which gave me the opportunity to at least try to smooth over the issues created by my quick-judgment of Fred and his facade he put on in the office. I don't know that he ever really knew what to think of me. I'm pretty sure he thinks I'm certifiable.

Now he's gone from my place of employment (it was a temporary thing) but not gone from my mind. I have emailed him in a friendly manner, goodbye and whatnot, but not received a reply. I am (almost) certain this is because he is, as I would term it, "too cool for school." You know the type. It was this attitude that initially turned me off to him, but it is not unexpected from a young law student looking to impress lawyers. My heart is broken from this. So ridiculous, yet that is in fact the case. An almost 30-year old woman heartbroken by a goddamn law school student who is not even aware of her infatuation? This is ridiculous. I feel so unbelievably silly seeing it written. But its true. The fact remains. Attraction is not a logical thing. I have been attracted to the oddest people. Looks are not the determining factor, as I already said, I straight up did not like Fred when I met him. But now, he's the most attractive thing I can possibly imagine. I can think of nothing else.

So Fred, do something to make me think you're an asshole again, so I can get past this and on with my life. Because the other options are me going into a state of lustful insanity and writing an email that I will forever regret, or me pining for your bod for the foreseeable future. Unless you show up on my doorstep ready to sweep me off my feet. I'll be your sugarmama. Hey, I kinda like that. ...

Friday, April 27, 2007

i hate city folk

yeah, i realize i live in the city so it's my own damn fault i'm around them. but that doesn't make it any more tolerable.

there are two things about city folk that i hate in particular. (1) the fact that they seem to think that, because they are from an urban and therefore supposedly "cultured" environment, that they know everything, and (2) they're damned rude.


i'm from the "country." and when i say that, i mean a town of 3000 with two stoplights and more deer than people. i mean i lived ON a dirt road that was OFF a dirt road that was off a paved road not wide enough for two cars to pass each other and keep all wheels on pavement. i mean to say that people drove snowmobiles to school in the winter. i mean to say the whole school got the first day of buck season and doe season off. this one always catches the citys as they don't know what a buck or a doe is. ignorant bastards.

when someone likes me divulges my past to a city, they're instantly intrigued. more than intrigued, they are seemingly required to bring up the Deliverance references, the jokes about inbreeding and trailers. it doesn't matter if you're from rural Pennsylvania, Texas, Missouri, or anywhere else. you're a hillbilly redneck.



but much more than the stereotypes and stupid jokes, what gets me is they always want to tell me how terrible a rural lifestyle is. now, i'm open to hearing your opinion if you know what in the hell you're talking about. if you've lived in the country too, and you really do think it sucks, then by all means tell me about it. i'm happy for you that you got the hell out of there.

but that's never been the case. rather, it's people who haven't ever left there comfy metropolis and still pass judgment. it's the ones that have decided based upon what the omnipotent Hollywood has told them. mind you, the Hollywood assholes live in the same place that the ignorant citys do. this is of no help at all. all it does is reinforce their stupid and ignorant sterotypes of viewing US as the stupid and ignorant ones.

i'm not going to deny that certain aspects of rural lifestyle suck ass. dirt roads become mud roads in the spring. wood burning stoves are no real way to heat a house. i didn't even know that "AP" classes existed until I got to college and found out how behind i was. but it was a great place to live. and an absolutely awesome place to grow up.

however, these cities go on and on aobut how LUCKY i am that i'm here now, in the big city, with the real people and the real restaurants and the CULTURE, and the DIVERSITY, and the LIFESTYLE. bullshit. if you were open and diverse you wouldn't be telling me i'm a hillbilly. you'd be asking me how to cook venison.

the worst thing about living in a city, however, is the attitude of the people. especially in the land of entitlement--LA. where i grew up, people always said hello when they passed you--even if you didn't know them. when you passed someone on the road going in the opposite direction, you give the steering wheel wave. either way, you acknowledge the person.

in the city, they'd rather run you over than say hello. i've had grandma's flip me off while blocking the entire road. i've had plastic surgery bitches let their little dogs crap in my yard and then lie to my face denying it. i've had neighbors that would rather pretend they don't speak English than speak to me. and to top it all off, we're all shoulder-to-shoulder with no room. at least if people were civil, or *gasp* friendly, it would make it less painful to have no space.

yes, i need to get out of the city. people here suck, and I don't want to become one of them.

Tuesday, March 27, 2007

Two Beautiful Things. Together

In exactly one week, I will be surrounded by greatness.


Next Tuesday, not only will I be seeing the wonderfully afroed gentlemen to the left, but I will be seeing them in the venue above.
Yes, The Mars Volta in the Orpheum. We plan on making it an all Latino evening by hitting up the Grand Central Market on Broadway before meandering down the street to one of the only vaudeville theatres in LA that's been completely and beautifully restored. The best burrito I have ever had in my life was had right there on Broadway. Man I love that street.


I really hope Omar and Cedric use the in-house organ. Damn, they're lookin' hot as cartoons, no? Omar's got a little more of the Marc Antony-Skeletor thing going in real life.

Monday, March 26, 2007

classic monday


i think being a professional blogger would be the shit. especially a gossip blogger. they could do what i do all day and get paid! apparently get paid a crapload.

however, i am a responsible individual who never jumps aboard bandwagons. especially technological bandwagons. so here i sit in my office at my desk hating every minute while idiots like a blue haired cuban who i will not mention can sit around a goddamn coffee shop and make millions with no discernable talent? yes, there is no justice in this world. yes, this is a classic monday post because, in the end, i'm just bitching that i hate working. i want to go back to sunday--when i could get back into bed with my dog and watch star trek on tivo. what could possibly be better than that?????

Yes, that's Captain Sisko. I'm not ashamed--Deep Space Nine was AWESOME.

Thursday, February 1, 2007

Melodic Confusion

When you live in LA, the amount of musical options available to one are myriad. Growing up in a little town with one radio station (country--the horror!), before the advent of internet and before cable brought me MTV, I knew classic rock and a little rap--of course, I'm not talking Public Enemy consciousness-changing rap, but Kid 'n' Play, Candyman, Young MC bubblegum rap. Not many choices.





So now that I'm here in the "land of opportunity" (at least in terms of options) I feel the obligation and need to expand my musical boundaries. I also feel the need to attend concerts and see these bands in person--something that was never even remotely an option in the past. Since moving to LA I've seen the following bands:






Citizen Cope--he was actually the opener for this tool Marc Something that ended up totally sucking. But Citizen Cope rocked--he's got this soulful sound, his songs tell heartbreaking stories, his band was on f-ing point. Made me a believer, this one did.









The Yeah Yeah Yeahs














Never mind the emo poseurs, YYY had an awesome show. They sounded as good as they do on their album, which is probably my second favorite of '06 (the first being Amputecture from The Mars Volta).



Not generally a fan of female vocalists, but there are a few (Karen O, Joni Mitchell, Grace Slick, okay, I've run out) that I can dig. Karen's one of them. Plus, she's a maniac on stage. What I wouldn't give to be as uninhibited as her.



Muse

Yeah, Brit Rock. But they do "overdone" well. Rocked out the Greek with them over the summer, and with the exception of the drunk bitch behind me who kept yelling "I wanna be your fucking roadie, Muse! You guys fucking rockkkkkkkkk!!!" over and over, I really loved their show.





The White Stripes



He's uglier than sin, but man can these two wail! Highly recommended. Two people: guitar, xylephone, drums, piano, and, I believe, a gong). They play what they want. Can't wait to see the Raconteurs. No offense, Meg.




Social Distortion


I'd been waiting to see these bitches since college. Waited too long. Mike Ness (still the HOTNESS and yes, I'd hit that in a minute) has totally lost his voice. To much drinking and smoking?



Ohhhh I'm prison bound, I did a crime one too many times......

Kristian, I miss you.





Amos Lee (it was a work thing). Don't remember much about it. Don't care much about it. The Turkish folk singer who opened was superior.


I had tickets to see Foo Fighters/Weezer. Didn't get to go. It's a painful subject that I don't want to talk about. Unless you want to hear an earful of bitching about selfish bastards. But I digress.

This year I want to see everybody: Bob Dylan, The Who, The Mars Volta, Tom Petty, everybody. Preferably outdoor venues where we can toke it up. What's up, Greek???






































































































Friday, January 19, 2007

Everybody Needs a Little Love

At a Window

Give me hunger, O you gods that sit and give The world its orders. Give me hunger, pain and want, Shut me out with shame and failure From your doors of gold and fame, Give me your shabbiest, weariest hunger! But leave me a little love, A voice to speak to me in the day end, A hand to touch me in the dark room Breaking the long loneliness. In the dusk of day-shapes Blurring the sunset, One little wandering, western star Thrust out from the changing shores of shadow. Let me go to the window, Watch there the day-shapes of dusk And wait and know the coming Of a little love.

Carl Sandburg