Friday, April 27, 2007

i hate city folk

yeah, i realize i live in the city so it's my own damn fault i'm around them. but that doesn't make it any more tolerable.

there are two things about city folk that i hate in particular. (1) the fact that they seem to think that, because they are from an urban and therefore supposedly "cultured" environment, that they know everything, and (2) they're damned rude.


i'm from the "country." and when i say that, i mean a town of 3000 with two stoplights and more deer than people. i mean i lived ON a dirt road that was OFF a dirt road that was off a paved road not wide enough for two cars to pass each other and keep all wheels on pavement. i mean to say that people drove snowmobiles to school in the winter. i mean to say the whole school got the first day of buck season and doe season off. this one always catches the citys as they don't know what a buck or a doe is. ignorant bastards.

when someone likes me divulges my past to a city, they're instantly intrigued. more than intrigued, they are seemingly required to bring up the Deliverance references, the jokes about inbreeding and trailers. it doesn't matter if you're from rural Pennsylvania, Texas, Missouri, or anywhere else. you're a hillbilly redneck.



but much more than the stereotypes and stupid jokes, what gets me is they always want to tell me how terrible a rural lifestyle is. now, i'm open to hearing your opinion if you know what in the hell you're talking about. if you've lived in the country too, and you really do think it sucks, then by all means tell me about it. i'm happy for you that you got the hell out of there.

but that's never been the case. rather, it's people who haven't ever left there comfy metropolis and still pass judgment. it's the ones that have decided based upon what the omnipotent Hollywood has told them. mind you, the Hollywood assholes live in the same place that the ignorant citys do. this is of no help at all. all it does is reinforce their stupid and ignorant sterotypes of viewing US as the stupid and ignorant ones.

i'm not going to deny that certain aspects of rural lifestyle suck ass. dirt roads become mud roads in the spring. wood burning stoves are no real way to heat a house. i didn't even know that "AP" classes existed until I got to college and found out how behind i was. but it was a great place to live. and an absolutely awesome place to grow up.

however, these cities go on and on aobut how LUCKY i am that i'm here now, in the big city, with the real people and the real restaurants and the CULTURE, and the DIVERSITY, and the LIFESTYLE. bullshit. if you were open and diverse you wouldn't be telling me i'm a hillbilly. you'd be asking me how to cook venison.

the worst thing about living in a city, however, is the attitude of the people. especially in the land of entitlement--LA. where i grew up, people always said hello when they passed you--even if you didn't know them. when you passed someone on the road going in the opposite direction, you give the steering wheel wave. either way, you acknowledge the person.

in the city, they'd rather run you over than say hello. i've had grandma's flip me off while blocking the entire road. i've had plastic surgery bitches let their little dogs crap in my yard and then lie to my face denying it. i've had neighbors that would rather pretend they don't speak English than speak to me. and to top it all off, we're all shoulder-to-shoulder with no room. at least if people were civil, or *gasp* friendly, it would make it less painful to have no space.

yes, i need to get out of the city. people here suck, and I don't want to become one of them.

No comments: